One…Mississippi….

Image

Today I stopped by a neighborhood garage sale and picked up this cross stitched map of Mississippi for $2.  I’m a sucker for anything handmade, stitched or embroidered–especially if I know I can repurpose it into a pillow.

ImageI popped the fabric out of the frame, removed the tape from the back and ironed it flat.   Using some grey corduroy I turned this precious handmade item into a fun throw pillow.    I used a pattern for an envelope pillow like the one here.IMG_4964 IMG_4965 IMG_4966

I used the laurel stitch on my new Pfaff sewing machine to create a pretty edging on the flap.

IMG_4971

Mississippi is the Magnolia State or the Hospitality State.  What better way to show some hospitality than with a handmade state pillow!  Do you have a favorite thrifted pillow?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

